Parc Phoenix, Nice

Remember this challenge post?  Well a few weeks ago, I got started knocking a few more items off my “must-see-before-I-leave” list.  One of the items on my cool new super-touristy bag was something called Parc Phoenix, which I had never heard of and had no idea what it was.  I did some Googling and learned that it’s a park/nature preserve/zoo on the west side of Nice, and that it only costs 2€ to get in!  Sold.  A couple weeks ago we actually had warm sunny weather (it’s been unusually cold and rainy this spring… well when I say cold I mean like 55 degrees.  I’m spoiled, I know) so I decided to take advantage and go there on Tuesday when I didn’t have school.  Even though I went alone (it’s really hard to do stuff during the day since we all have different teaching schedules), I’m so glad I did!  The weather was beautiful and it was great to be surrounded by nature, since I’ve been in cities basically since I arrived here in September.

There was a lot of green grass and trees, pretty flowers, cacti, animals in pens, and free-range animals.  There was also a big greenhouse, a reptile/spider/fish building, a big pond, and fountains that played in time with music once an hour.  So without further ado… some photos!

IMG_3629

Be careful, I bite.  Don't put your hands on the fence.

“Be careful, I bite. Don’t put your hands on the fence.”

Mama owl and baby owl!

Mama owl and baby owl!

Weeeeeeird bird.

Weeeeeeird bird.

I spotted a little gecko and managed to get a picture of it!

I spotted a little gecko and managed to get a picture of it!

IMG_3651

This was called a "canyon"-there were a bunch of them.  Basically a big whole in the ground with sloping sides and something planted in them.  This was the cactus canyon...shocking, I know.

This was called a “canyon”-there were a bunch of them. Basically a big whole in the ground with sloping sides and something planted in them. This was the cactus canyon…shocking, I know.

More cacti outside a building.

More cacti outside a building.

Inside the huge greenhouse.

Inside the huge greenhouse.

These orchids don't even look real!

These orchids don’t even look real!

Beetles in my favorite color :)

Beetles in my favorite color 🙂

I think this spider needs somewhere else to spin.

I think this spider needs somewhere else to spin.

A little shark-looking guy.

A little shark-looking guy.

Blurry picture, but... Nemos!!

Blurry picture, but… Nemos!!

IMG_3678

IMG_3683

For some reason there were a bunch of guinea pigs...

For some reason there were a bunch of guinea pigs…

IMG_3688

IMG_3691

I was just sitting at a little snack bar thing having a drink when this guy came through!

I was just sitting at a little snack bar thing having a drink when this guy came through!

Can you see the turtles?

Can you see the turtles?

The fountain in time with music.  The rainbow was just a plus.

The fountain in time with music. The rainbow was just a plus.

All in all it was a great day and I’m so glad I went.  No better way to spend 2 euros than to spend an afternoon soaking up sunshine and some nature!

Categories: Life in France | Tags: , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Parc Phoenix, Nice

  1. Mom

    Wow, love seeing all the animals, but the orchids are amazing!

  2. I like the guinea pigs. WHEEK WHEEK WHEEK!

  3. Dad

    The spider picture and the first one with the pelican and duck were my favorites.

  4. aftonjoy

    If Ben and I were to come visit, we would definitely want to go there! Thank you for all the pictures. Loved the snuggling mama baby owl. That greenhouse looked big, would enjoy walking through it. And such a cool rainbow pic at the end!

    Please omit the picture of the spider next time. Shudder.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

