Paris Sights Previously Unseen: Versailles (and some extras)

Okay, I know Versailles isn’t technically in Paris, but we went during our Paris trip, so I say it counts.  First of all, a tip for you: if you go to Versailles, DON’T go during the coldest part of the year.  Inside the palace was fine, but we basically only toured the grounds right around it because it was SO cold, and there’s a lot more to see than that!  We spent all of our time outside (which totaled probably 30 minutes) bundled up like this:

IMG_3354

Happy, but freezing cold.

Basically, Versailles is a huge palace where French royalty used to live before the French Revolution, and is now a museum filled with super-ornate paint, wallpaper, paintings, chandeliers, furniture… everything was really fancy.  As with my museum post, I don’t have a lot to say about these pictures, so enjoy!

The front of the palace + me freezing outside.

The front of the palace + me freezing outside.

A model of the palace and surrounding gardens.  See how big they are??

A model of the palace and surrounding gardens. See how big they are??

IMG_3319

Nick on the right side, haha

Hall of Mirrors

Hall of Mirrors

One of the many bedrooms we saw.

One of the many bedrooms we saw.

Another bedroom

Another bedroom

A big globe Nick and I thought was cool.

A big globe Nick and I thought was cool.

Trying to give you guys a feel for just how big this place was...

Trying to give you guys a feel for just how big this place was…

A good view of the back gardens from inside.

A good view of the gardens from inside.

Do you remember how I mentioned once a long time ago that I can’t stitch together panoramic photos on my computer, because it makes it turn off for no conceivable reason every time I try?  Well the whole computer-turning-off thing has worsened to turning off at random times… seriously, I won’t even be opening new programs or anything.  I’ll just be scrolling through a website and it will turn off.  Come on little computer, just make it another month and then we can go home and get all reformatted…

Side note, as of today I’ve been in France for six months! Cra-zay.  And I’ll be home in just over a month.  WOOT so excited.  But wow I got off topic…

Back to panoramas, guess whose boyfriend has a camera that can not only take, but also stitches together panoramas??  That’s right, mine.  His camera has a one-up on mine in this category.  So the next two photos are courtesy of him!

The gardens farther back.

Looking back at the palace.

Looking back at the palace.

IMG_3347

The hedges were crazy manicured.

After about 20 minutes we were cold enough to call it quits.  We walked around to the front and snapped just a few more pictures on our way out.

So ornate.

So ornate.

There’s a big man-on-horse statue waaay in front of the palace gates of Louis the 14th, who built Versailles.

Neeeeiiiiiiiigh

Neeeeiiiiiiiigh

After our hands were sufficiently numb from holding the camera, we booked it back to the train station!

As I mentioned here, a lot of the stuff we did in Paris I had seen before so I’m not featuring it here.  However, we did see a couple other random things that I want to mention!

This is the “Le mur des Je t’aime,” or “The I love you wall.”  I randomly happened to see it on Google Maps on my phone when we were navigating back to the closest Metro stop in Montmartre.  It has “I love you” written in 250 languages!

IMG_3384

We also made it a point to go see the Pont Alexandre III, a big bridge.

IMG_3443

IMG_3440

Whew, so that’s the end of our Paris trip!  What should be next- pictures of Venice?  One of the options in my poll on the right?  Something else?  Gimme your opinion!

Categories: Travels | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Paris Sights Previously Unseen: Versailles (and some extras)

  1. Clarette

    The bedrooms – so opulent.

  2. Neeeeiiiiiiiigh!!!! LOL.

    One of the great things about it being so cold was the crowd was probably smaller. We were in Europe over Memorial Day and there were people everywhere!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

