What I miss about the US

You asked for it, you got it!  On the poll on the right side (can still vote, btw!), this topic got the most votes.  Well, in actuality, it tied with “Things the US needs to start doing” but this topic was ahead most of the time and I figured the “Things the US needs to start doing” topic would be better paired with its counterpart, “Things France needs to stop doing.”  So that will come later.

Obviously what I miss most about the US is the people–my friends, family, and boyfriend–but I’m not going to write in-depth about that because then I’ll get sad and AIN’T NOBODY GOT TIME FOR THAT.

I’ve been in France for four and a half months now and while I’ve mostly adjusted to the differences here, there are still a few things from the US that I miss very much.  One big one is the food; even though I mostly cook for myself, so I do get a lot of American foods, some things are more difficult to make without the ingredients I’m used to!  A short list that I thought of while sitting here: butterscotch chips, peanut butter, chocolate chips that aren’t 2.50€ for a cup, Stovetop stuffing, Kraft Mac n Cheese, cream of chicken soup, jalapenos, black beans…

American stuff

who covets*

I miss a lot of little things that I used to take for granted.  Like…

Easy open gum packs: You know that little tab that makes opening the plastic around Orbit oh-so-easy?  Yeah.  Doesn’t exist here.

Colgate paste: Only gel for some reason!

costco

Carpeted floors: My marble floors are nice and all, but they’re so COLD!  I haven’t been in any apartments here with carpet.

Free drink refills at restaurants: And cups bigger than a thimble.

Some things are due to cultural differences…

cheating

It’s funny*

Stores being open all day and on Sundays/Mondays: Mondays are an acceptable day for stores to be closed, and it’s not unusual to see a sign for “fermeture exceptionnelle” (I can’t think of a good translation for this… exceptional closure sounds weird.  Like, an out-of-the-ordinary closure?) for several days or even over a week.  I tried to go to this yarn shop three different times, all different times of day and days of the week, and it was ALWAYS closed.  Then one random weekday it was open at like 7 pm when I happened to walk by so I got my yarn!

Efficiency:  I tried to do a return at a HUGE department store here.  First they sent me downstairs, since that was where I made the purchase; then the two girls working behind the counter didn’t know how to do a return; then another girl working didn’t know how to do one; eventually they had to call someone on the phone for how to do it and were finally successful.  It ended up being like a half-hour process.  And this was at, like, the Macy’s of France.  No wonder most places just say “Pas de remboursements!!!”

shame

Waiters actually waiting on you: You’re lucky if they come by three times: to take your order, to bring your food, and to give you the check (but only after you ask for it).  Drink refills?  Forget about it.

Some things are just different here…

strike

Having a dryer: Crunchy air-dried clothes all day e’ery day.

Big kitchens: Our kitchen is actually pretty average-sized for France, and we have a big fridge and an oven, which is practically unheard of.  But it’s still way tighter than I’m used to.  Two people is pushing it, three people in the kitchen is pretty much impossible.

Technology at school:  I recognize that the school where I student taught had tons of technology, but it has really been an adjustment to teach at a school with no computers in the classrooms, some not having projectors, and tons of other technological issues… but that’s a topic for another post.

Clean sidewalks:  I have mentioned probably too many times about the poop on the sidewalks here, but honestly, it’ll be a GREAT day when I can walk down a sidewalk confident that I won’t get a sole full of dog poo.

Unpolluted air:  I honestly often feel like every breath I take here is filled with either exhaust or cigarette smoke.  I’m shocked that I haven’t had any migraines since my arrival (4.5 months!!) so maybe the air isn’t as bad as I seem to think!  I do miss the clean country air of Illinois though.

snow

And finally, some of the things I miss are due to the language barrier…

franglais

that’s a bit* of franglais

Being able to communicate easily:  Although I really can communicate with most people without a problem in French, I always second-guess my abilities.  I really miss being able to ask the saleslady where the black blazers are without mentally rehearsing my lines ahead of time, or being confident enough to go tell my downstairs neighbor to turn down his super loud music!!

customer service

Knowing what things are at the grocery store:  Not only are there a lot of food-related words that I don’t know (because when would I have ever used the French for nutmeg), but often here when I look something up I STILL don’t know what it is because it’s some type of food that we don’t have in the US.  For example, flageolet is the same in English–flageolet beans–but what the heck are they??  Can’t I just get some black beans up in here??

So those are some of the things I miss about the US!  Pretty much what you expected, or did some of the things I chose surprise you?  Also, the images along the way are tweets from an American chef that now lives in Paris.  He wrote an amazing book I read before coming here called The Sweet Life in Paris and he often makes me laugh with his Twitter-ific commentary about France (despite his many typos).  If you’re interested, check out more of his tweets here (no Twitter account required!) or his website here.

Categories: Differences between France and the US, Life in France | Tags: , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “What I miss about the US

  1. Clarette

    You need to clue in the French about the dog poop DNA – don’t clean up after your pet and get walloped with a huge fine when the poop is DNA tested and you’re BUSTED! It’s catching on down here, and I’m all for it. (Don’t they have poop bags?!)

    • Whaaaaaat so every dog’s DNA is on file?? That’s a little crazy. My theory is that the city just needs to STOP cleaning it up and then maybe when the sidewalk is overrun by poop the people will learn.

      They DO have poop bags here; occasionally they have little dispensers along the sidewalk, but they’re usually empty. They do have a cool kind here with cardboard at the top so that you can scoop up the poop with the cardboard and then just kinda fold it into the bag. If that makes sense…

      Here here’s a not-so-great photo http://best-b2b.com/userimg/721/732-1/pet-poo-pick-bag–dog-poop-bag-116.jpg

  2. Mom

    Another great, entertaining post Kels. We should mention though~street cleaning machines wash down the streets and sidewalk every day right? And not just with water, some sort of good smelling cleaner. First thing in the morning the streets and sidewalks would still be wet and smell great.

  3. Gloria Nelson

    Love, love, love these posts! It is so wonderful to read about your experiences overseas! France is on my ‘bucket list’, Kels! I also have a real desire to learn conversational French so when I DO get there one day, I can speak, hopefully pretty well, to get where I need to go and get what I need to get. I’m feeling your pain about the Colgate Regular Toothpaste….I would be beside myself if I couldn’t get my Colgate OR my Sonicare toothbrush heads! : )

    Keep them coming….I do my part and keep on voting!

    Love you dearly, sweetie….

  4. aftonjoy

    Thank you for linking me to yet another youtube video that enriches my life. Though not as good as our friend Antoine’s video.

    And not a single mention of missing your dear sister’s pregnancy… lol.

    • I put a disclaimer at the beginning, that I wasn’t going to talk about any truly sentimental stuff! Do you really wanna have your baby on that list sandwiched between gum and toothpaste? Do you REALLY think they’re on the same level?? Sheesh. #pregnancyemotions

  5. Dad

    What did you call these differences in culture; schemus?

    • Schemas! But a schema is kinda different (from my understanding). It’s your understanding of a place or a process. Like knowing where to get a cart at the grocery store, knowing you have to put in a quarter, understanding the difference between self/express/regular checkouts, knowing to put the little dividers between your food and the next person’s, telling the cashier you have a debit card and then running it yourself- all of those things are part of your schema for going to the grocery store.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

