Funny Signs Around Nice

Guess what, we’re taking (another) short break from posts about my parents’ trip!  Only… 3 more of them left, I believe.  When my mom emails me her notes from our time in Germany (no pressure Mom!  Thanks for taking notes!) I’ll resume with posts about the trip, but until then… funny signs from around Nice!

I’ve noticed that there are a lot of funny or punny names of stores and restaurants around here.  Some of them are clever, some are mixtures of French and English, and some are just straight hilarious.  So I started snapping pictures to share them with you all!  Enjoy 🙂

Welcome to King Burger, where you can have it your way, but don't get crazy.

I first showed this picture in this post, but I figured it needed including in this one as well.  King Burger is the name of fictional restaurant from a Mad TV skit (playing off Burger King); it’s hilarious that it actually exists!

A lot of stores here play off the English meaning of the word "nice."  This is a store near my apartment, and where I bought a dress!

A lot of stores here play off the English meaning of the word “nice.” This is a store near my apartment, where I bought a dress!

In Italian, Nice is "Nissa," and "pissaladière" is a specialty dish here in Nice.  A clever combination of the two words for a cafe!!

In Italian, Nice is “Nissa,” and “pissaladière” is a specialty dish here in Nice. A clever combination of the two words for a cafe!!

Another clever one.  In French, girl is "fille" and boy is "garçon" - this is a baby store.  However, the street this is on is "Rue Arson," hence the spelling of "G'Arson"!

Another clever one. In French, girl is “fille” and boy is “garçon” – this is a baby store. However, the street this is on is “Rue Arson,” hence the spelling of “G’Arson”!

Okay, these would probably be a lot more enjoyable if I didn’t have to explain them in so much detail.  Okay, some I don’t have to explain…

No slushies here.

No slushies here.

A pun in English!  G-love me, baby.

A pun in English! G-love me, baby.

They translated "4 Men" to "Pour l'homme" in case someone didn't get it.

They translated “4 Men” to “Pour l’homme” in case someone didn’t get it.

Were the items in this store created in Japan?  Or it is about crazy Japanese people?  I'll never know...

Were the items in this store created in Japan? Or it is about crazy Japanese people? I’ll never know…

Who wants a crusty burger?  ME, ME!  Isn't that the name of the restaurant in SpongeBob?

Who wants a crusty burger? ME, ME! By the way, isn’t that the name of the restaurant in SpongeBob?

Klassy.

Klassy.

And a bonus from a menu outside some restaurant: not sure what "easy dick" is, positive I don't want to find out.

And a bonus from a menu outside some restaurant: not sure what “easy dick” is, positive I don’t want to find out.

Categories: Life in France | Tags: , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Funny Signs Around Nice

  1. Crusty Burger, close enough to Krusty Burger from The Simpsons? 😀

    • Oh is that what I was thinking of?? I’m sure it’s the same and they just changed the spelling to not break the copyright 🙂

  2. Clarette

    If I didn’t laugh at the sign, I laughed at your commentary. Well done!!

  3. Gloria

    I love your blog updates!!!! Keep them coming so we can live vicariously through your travels!!!!

    • I wrote one about Chels’ and my time in Paris last night- will post it after I get done with the ones from my parents’ trip!!

  4. Dad

    You forgot my favorite ‘Kiss and Fly’.

  5. Have you gone shopping for some Kustom Klothes? Those signs are funny! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

