The Last Few Months in Photos

In my mass of posts about Germany and London, I got behind on posting recent pics from my life here!  Here are a bunch from the last couple of months.

One day back in October, David and I were down near the port with our friend Sam and we took a pic.  I thought maybe I had already put this somewhere, but I couldn't find it!

One day back in October, David and I were down near the port with our friend Sam and we took a pic. I thought maybe I had already put this on the blog somewhere, but I couldn’t find it!

I took this at the house where I babysit. Beautiful!

I took this at the house where I babysit. Beautiful!

Terrible pic, but I wanted to remember.  I met some French friends at a jazz bar and watched one of their boyfriends play with his brothers and dad.

Terrible pic, but I wanted to remember. I met some French friends at a jazz bar and watched one of their boyfriends play with his brothers and dad.

Caterpillar machinery doing work in France!  Their headquarters are in central Illinois but I think their European headquarters are in Grenoble, just north of here.

Caterpillar machinery doing work in France! Their headquarters are in central Illinois but I think their European headquarters are in Grenoble, just north of here.

This car is parked not far from my apartment.  Apparently it's been there for years.  And get this- the doors are unlocked!

This car is parked not far from my apartment. Apparently it’s been there for years. And get this- the doors are unlocked!

I was on the lookout for new curtains for my room, but couldn't find any that fit my room.  Then I found these old curtains in a cabinet in my room!  I was proud of myself because I uninstalled and reinstalled the curtain rod all by myself.

I was on the lookout for new curtains for my room, but couldn’t find any that fit my room. Then I found these old curtains in a cabinet in my room! I was proud of myself because I uninstalled and reinstalled the curtain rod all by myself.

I got a new shower curtain for our bathroom, and it matches!  Our old one was GROSS.  I'll spare showing you the picture.

I got a new shower curtain for our bathroom, and it matches! Our old one was GROSS. I’ll spare showing you the picture.

We all had a good time at Thanksgiving dinner.

We all had a good time at Thanksgiving dinner.

The food spread was amazing!

The food spread was amazing!

Welcome to King Burger, where you can have it your way, but don't get crazy.

Welcome to King Burger, where we could do it your way, but don’t get crazy.

A French friend studied abroad for a year in Nebraska, so she wanted to make American Christmas cookies!!  I used my mom's recipe, which is written out here.

A French friend studied abroad for a year in Nebraska, so she wanted to make American Christmas cookies!! I used my mom’s recipe, which is written out here.

I learned the hard way that "sucre en poudre" is NOT powdered sugar, just regular granulated sugar... we had to rethink the frosting that we made!

I learned the hard way that “sucre en poudre” is NOT powdered sugar, just regular granulated sugar… we had to rethink the frosting that we made!

I took this pic for my mom- she couldn't believe that the Carrefour (grocery store) gets that busy!!

I took this pic for my mom- she couldn’t believe that the Carrefour (grocery store) gets that busy!!

A bunch of us went to a concert where a string quartet played famous songs!

A bunch of us went to a concert where a string quartet played popular songs!

After the concert, we went to a cafe for some vin chaud- warm red wine with sugar and spices (it was very nice!).

After the concert, we went to a cafe for some vin chaud- warm red wine with sugar and spices (it was very nice!).

We went to the turning on of the Christmas lights one evening in Nice-Centre.

We went to the turning on of the Christmas lights one evening in Nice-Centre.

The next day, we walked around Nice, checked out the newly-open Christmas markets, and enjoyed a snack at a cafe!

The next day, we walked around Nice, checked out the newly-open Christmas markets, and enjoyed a snack at a cafe!

IMAG0547

We saw this lady doing interpretive dance to music with guys in wolf masks…. yeah I don’t even know.

I went and saw an English production of "Frankenstein" with a bunch of English classes from Massena.  The actors did a Q&A session after.

I went and saw an English production of “Frankenstein” with a bunch of English classes from Massena. The actors did a Q&A session after.

Before the play, I got treated to a delicious French lunch at my school!  Curry chicken, these fried mashed potato ball things, beans, chocolate dessert, and yes, wine!

Before the play, I got treated to a delicious French lunch at my school! Curry chicken, these fried mashed potato ball things, beans, chocolate dessert, and yes, wine!

As I mentioned here, parking is terrible... if they're blocked in, sometimes people just honk until the person blocking them comes out and moves!

As I mentioned here, parking is terrible… if they’re blocked in, sometimes people just honk until the person blocking them comes out and moves!

I'll finish with an updated picture of our "love wall," but now I have my parents' Christmas card up too!

I’ll finish with an updated picture of our “love wall,” but now I have my parents’ Christmas card up too!

So, there’s some random facets of my life here in photos… hope you enjoyed it!

Categories: Life in France | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The Last Few Months in Photos

  1. Dad

    Enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

