Best of my apartment

Hello everyone!  I hope you all are having a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend.  I had a great dinner at David’s and my apartment on Thursday night; we invited all of our friends here and ended up having 14 people over!  Everyone brought something to contribute to the meal and it was a really fun time.  I didn’t take many pictures of the evening, but here’s one my friend Sam snapped on my phone:

I have one post about London all written and ready to post, and another ONE planned (that’s right, one; no massive five-part post for this trip!), but I thought I would take a break from writing about my trips to do a fun little post about my apartment.  Oh and if you would like to give me input about what I should write about after London, there’s still a poll along the right side!

I want to start by saying that I absolutely LOVE my apartment here.  First of all, it’s in a great location: fifteen minute walk from my school, five minutes from the tram stop, right next to a huge grocery store inside a mall.  That last one comes in particularly handy when you’re making bruschetta and you burn the whole baguette that you’re toasting in the oven, so you have to run and get a new one… that’s just theoretical, of course.  That definitely never happened to me… ahem.

The first thing I noticed upon walking into my room for the first time was this little guy:

I call him Shamu.  Also, how cool is my luggage??  I love it.

Shamu was chillin’ in the middle of my bed as a nice little “Welcome to Nice!” present.  Not sure who he belongs to or where he came from, but he enjoys hanging out in my room and has even became friends with Emmy.

As nice as this apartment is (I’m looking at you, marble floors!), there are a lot of touches of 70s decor here, which I think gives our place a unique retro feel.  There are the lace curtains on every window:

Note the big flatscreen on the left side. NOT from the 70s, but still appreciated.

I’m actually in the process of replacing the curtains in my room, as soon as I find some I like.  I really dislike the garage-door-type blinds that everyone here in France has.  I’m also searching for a shower curtain if anyone knows where I can find one in Nice. 😀

The chandeliers here are also hilarious.  Not only are they super low, as I mentioned here, but also very retro.  I compiled a collage of my favorites:

The flowers on the bottom right are SO 70s.

The one on the bottom left is my favorite.  It looks like just a plain hanging bulb, which is what I thought it was until just the other day.  I touched it for some reason and I realized that it was plastic- if you look closely at it, you can see a coil of one of those fancy energy-saving bulbs inside of it.  The bulb cover is made to look like a bulb!  Cracked me up.

I had an unpleasant surprise one day when going to sit on my bed.  I went to sit up against a pillow and felt something hard jab into my back- one of my pillows here has a board in it!  Like, a legit board made of wood.  It must have been of some use to the lady who lived here before.

If you look at the top left corner, you can see the sharp corner of the board!

But perhaps my favorite personal touch of the apartment is one that David pointed out to me the other day; I had never noticed it before.  It’s this cute little lion picture stuck to the inside of a closet door:

Mufasa, Nala, Simba.

It’s held up with what looks like a security tag from some sort of electronic.  Hilarious and so cute 🙂 our apartment has so much character!

And finally, perhaps my favorite part of the apartment: our love wall!  I first showed it in this post and since then I’ve made a few additions.  Here is how it looks now!

Thanksgiving hand turkey and a couple photos of my family!

Well that’s it, just a quick look at a few of the more unique and interesting aspects of my apartment.  I hope you enjoyed it, and I’ll be back to regularly scheduled posting (LONDON!!) in a few days!

Categories: Life in France | Tags: , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Best of my apartment

  1. Dad

    You’ll have friends all over the world.

  2. aftonjoy

    I think baby needs to go up on the Love Wall. You got the picture we mailed, right?

    • I did, but I didn’t put all the pictures I got up on the wall. Don’t want to overwhelm it! Also, the baby doesn’t look like that anymore!!

  3. aftonjoy

    When you add new options to the poll, rather than creating a new poll, it won’t let me vote again. I voted once a few weeks ago or whenever the poll was created, but now I can’t vote on any of the new options. Can you change the settings to allow multiple votes?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

