Places to go, people to see, things to do!

There are A TON of places I want to go while I’m in Europe; I plan to take mad advantage of the proximity of many different countries, ease of travel, and people I know in Europe.  However, I also need to be aware that traveling costs money and I’ll be living on a limited budget, so I need to pick and choose places I go.  That being said, there are a few places I DEFINITELY want to go, and I even have some plans in the works already.

First up: PARIS!  I’m flying in and out of Paris, and when I first arrive Courtney and I are going to spend a few days there.  I’m not sure what exactly we’re going to do since we’re only going to be there a few days and will be dealing with jet lag and such, but before my time in France comes to an end I definitely want to see all the sights Paris has to offer, like…

The Eiffel Tower…

The Champs-Élysées…

and The Louvre!

After traveling from Paris to Nice, I have a week of meetings/training/observations, and then that weekend I’m hoping to go to Germany for the last weekend of Oktoberfest.  I realize it’s gonna be super crazy, but I won’t be in Europe next September/October so this might be my only chance to attend, so I’m gonna try to make it happen.  My friend Claus lives in Cologne and wants me to go there first, and I’d really like to, but I’m not sure I’ll have time.  It looks beautiful though!

Cologne, Germany

I really hope going to Munich/Oktoberfest works out.

Munich, Germany

Oktoberfest

I also really want to go to Berlin in Germany at some point.  I want to travel in Germany a fair amount since I’m almost 100% German in my ancestry, and I also read a blog post by a former assistant about Berlin that made it look really interesting.

Berlin, Germany

After that, I’m not really sure where I want to go next.  I believe I have two weeks off at the end of October (I know, work for a week and then have two weeks off.  I’m gonna have a rough life) so I’ll probably take at least one trip.  However, in the meantime between bigger trips I’m planning on exploring Nice/the surrounding area A TON and also hopefully go to Monaco and Italy.  As I’ve mentioned before, Monaco is only six miles away from my apartment; Monaco is this weird little country (little as in like, less than a square mile) with a population of over 36,000, so I imagine it’s like a smaller, more packed Woodfield Mall.  It’s also suuuper rich, apparently, with a really low poverty rate and a ton of million/billionaires living there.

If you couldn’t tell from the photo.

With Italy being so close, I imagine I’ll explore a lot of towns near the border, but the main places I want to visit are Venice and Rome.  They’re not very close to France, so they’ll have to be longer trips, but they’re still not super far.  I can’t wait to see the canals and the ruins and everything that’s there.

Venice, Italy

Rome, Italy

London is also a must-see as far as I’m concerned.  I really don’t care much about visiting anywhere else in England, unless one of my British friends wants to invite me over, but I really want to tour around London for at least a few days.  Old-fashioned red phone booths + Big Ben + awesome accents + speaking English = WIN as far as I’m concerned!

London, England

An old co-worker of mine is studying abroad in Barcelona, and I proposed on her Facebook wall this week that we do an exchange- she can come visit me and I’ll show her around Nice, and I’ll go visit her and get to see Barcelona!  She said she was down so I hope that works out, because otherwise I probably won’t go to Spain.

Barcelona, Spain

Finally, my roommate mentioned something about visiting Belgium; apparently it’s beautiful there and he really wants to go, so I might tag along.

I suppose I could deign to visit here.

However, none of these places are set in stone.  It depends on the generosity of my international friends, the time I have off, if I have people willing to travel with me, and, of course, MONEY.  I’m planning on traveling as cheaply as possible, because I want to go as many places as I can, but some of these might not happen, and I’m okay with that.  Even just spending some weekends biking around Nice or visiting nearby towns in France is gonna be awesome.

Also, since I’ve never been to Europe before, there are likely some super cool places that I’m missing, so I’ll be playing it by ear based on what recommendations I get.  What do you think- are there any other places in Europe I really need to go?

Categories: Preparations, Travels | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Places to go, people to see, things to do!

  1. Dad

    You need to know your way around Europe well enough to be a tour guide at Christmas/New Year’s.

  2. Lori

    Versaille is an amazing place. It is the one place that after 40 years, I still remember well. also just walking by the Champs Elysees, I bought some art just walking the streets there. Oh and La Louvre,,, you need a day just for that, UNBELIEVABLE… in many ways, it is a trip you will never forget. A shop owner asked me if I was English, I thought she said “do you speak English” and when I answered yes, she kicked me out of her shop so always remember your answer is “you are American”. They love Americans…. Thanks in advance for blogging your experiences.

  3. Aunt Con

    If you are going to Germany you should contact our cousins Peter Nissen and Jens Harder. They live on either sides of Germany. Uphusum is near the North Sea and the home of your Great great great great grandfather Peter Petersen is still our family home. Hopefully you could visit it or even stay there.

    • That’s awesome, I didn’t know that! Do you have their email addresses?

      • Peter Nissen

        Dear Kelsey,
        You’re invited to come and see (and stay in) your ancestral home in North Friesland at any time. It’s located close to the danish border and close to the North Sea. To find that area you best look for Hamburg and then go up north for another 100 miles on the map.

  4. Pingback: Places to go, people to see, things to do! | Home Far Away From Home

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

