Friday morning lockout

(I warned you all in my about me that sometimes I will include random posts of things that happen to me.  Here goes.)

This morning started out kinda rough.  I stumbled out of bed at 6:14 AM (half an hour after my alarm went off… ahem), then not only had to get dressed and ready for work (a challenge enough on a day like today) but I also had to finish packing for my weekend at my parents’ for my cousin Melissa’s wedding and make sure I had everything I needed to fully participate in the wedding festivities (you know, strapless bra, eyeshadow, all that stuff I usually don’t mess with).

I finally got my 4 bags (not an exaggeration) and dress out to the car when I realized my keys were somewhere in my purse and I had exactly 0 hands free to dig them out (because let’s be honest, no way am I taking two trips out to the car when I can carry all my crap like a packhorse).  I piled all my stuff on the hood of my car and rummaged through the approximately 27 compartments in my purse.  No keys.  I figured they might be up in my room, so I went back in the house.  Nope.  I searched through my purse again before finally admitting to myself that they weren’t there.  I then had the brilliant idea to see if I had left them in the car, and sure enough, I see them dangling from the ignition just taunting me.

Well, now what?  I have a spare key but it currently lives in my cupholder–great place for it, I know.  I actually thought just the other day that I need to put it back in my purse but of course I didn’t do it.  I double checked that I didn’t have another spare in my purse (I have a habit of making an abundance of spare keys…you know, so I can keep them in my cupholder just in case I lock my keys in my car) but no dice.

My last remaining option was one I had been avoiding considering until all other options had been exhausted.  I do have one more spare key; it’s wired up under my back bumper.

Full disclosure: I realize it might not be the best idea to admit this on a public blog, but whatever.  I figure 1) no one who knows me and reads this blog would steal my car. 2) If you don’t know me and read this blog, good luck ever finding me/my car.  Also, who are you and how did you get here?  Pretty sure it’s my family and maybe like 2 friends who ever read this thing.  3) No way was I putting the key back this morning so it’s currently–you guessed it–in my cupholder!  Who knows when I’ll get around to wiring it back up.  And 4) my poor car is on its last legs.  It’s keyed on almost every panel, there’s a broken-off key stuck in the trunk lock, and as my friend Travis puts it, the fan goes from “0 to tornado.”  So if you do end up reading this blog and stealing my car: enjoy its “eccentricities.” 🙂

Back to the story.  In order to get to the key, you have to lay on your back with your head and shoulders under the back of the car and fight with a stiff, rusty doubled-over piece of wire until it decides you’ve struggled long enough to release the key.  So guess what I was doing at 6:47 this morning in my work clothes?  You guessed it.  I’m sure any of the neighbors who happened to see me got a kick out of it.

Once I got the key I scooted back out from under the car, brushed off my clothes and my dignity, loaded my stuff, and headed to work.   Just another Friday morning!

Moral of the story:  Don’t be like me.  Keep your spare key in your purse, or house, or somewhere smarter than your car’s cupholder.  But if you are like me, ALWAYS have a backup plan, because someday you will undoubtedly need it.  For me, that day was today.

Categories: Funny experiences, Storytime | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Friday morning lockout

  1. When I was little, before my mom had an electronic keypad on her car, I/we accidentally locked the keys and house key in the car. I think it was my fault. I was like 8. The kitchen window was open and mom had to hoist me up and push me through it so I could open up the house.

  2. Aunt My

    I feel your pain. So sorry! Note to self…make that extra key to Uncle Bob’s truck before a “Kelsey Friday Morning” strikes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

