My emotions right now

I feel like my last post was somewhat impersonal (probably because I copied and pasted pretty much the whole thing from the TAPIF website… HMM), so I decided I should share a little bit about what I’m thinking in regards to the program right now.

The whole “graduation-and-moving-away-from-my-home-the-last-five-years” thing aside, I have all of these emotions running through me when I think about moving to France.

I’m relieved: It’s so nice to know that I have a job for the next year (and a teaching job to boot!), especially after waiting to hear back and being in a stage of limbo for so long.  Plus I’m super happy that I don’t have to go through the job-application process here in the States like so many of my friends are doing right now!

I’m nervous: I’ve never even been to France or Europe, much less lived there!  I really have no idea what life is going to be like and heading into something so COMPLETELY unknown is definitely daunting.

I’m scared: I’m not going to lie, thinking about moving to a country where I’m not fluent in the language is slightly terrifying.  Plus, thanks to the movie “Taken,” I have a whole bunch of people telling me not to get sold into the sex trade.  Thanks, guys.

I’m excited: Of course I’m excited!  I’m moving to FRANCE and I have a job in my field!  Plus I’m going to be near the beach in a temperate climate–pretty much everything I could ask for!  I’m going to have all sorts of amazing experiences and honestly, I can’t wait to get over there and start broadening my horizons.

I’m overwhelmed: There’s a lot I need to do.  I’m so happy that I have about 5 months to get all of my preparations done: buying plane tickets, saving money, finding an apartment, getting a visa, etc.; I’m going to need all of that time to figure out what I need to do before moving overseas and get it all done.

So there you have it!   A small glimpse into what I’m feeling right now.  I’m sure my emotions as the time draws nearer will continue to change (NOSTALGIA, anyone??), so I might do another similar post in a few months.

Categories: Random thoughts | Tags: , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “My emotions right now

  1. aftonjoy

    And I’m so excited for you! PS- do you want me to burn you a copy of Taken? JK!

  2. Oh Kels, it’s gonna be AWESOME! J’espère que nous pouvons réunir en France! Célia et Jany disent que <> – I bet you’ll be speaking more English than you want to 😛

  3. Aunt My

    I’m crazy excited for you!

  4. If you’re going to France, just a hint – learn some French. Even if it’s only a bit. If you start a conversation in a shop or a restaurant in French they will respect you for it and then launch into better English than I hear a lot of kids in London speak anyway.

    • kjmcgreer

      Thanks for the advice – I’m actually a French major in college so I’ve been studying French for 8 years 🙂 I’m assuming you live in London?

      • Yes, I live about 12 miles outside London City centre and work about 200 yards from the original centre of the City, in Cannon St.
        Sorry, I didn’t realise you spoke the language. Your post said that you ‘weren’t fluent’ so I wrongly assumed that you didn’t know French at all.
        J
        x

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

