France here I come!

If it wasn’t apparent from the title of this post, I’ll go ahead and say it- I GOT ACCEPTED TO THE PROGRAM!!  I am beyond excited!

Just a quick overview of the program: it’s called the Teaching Assistantship Program in France (TAPIF) and it’s through the French Embassy in the US.  Young adults can apply to be an English teaching assistant in a French primary or secondary school for 7 months, from October 1 to April 30.  If you’re interested, general information on the program can be found here, or there are additional sites listed on my “Helpful Links” page, located at the top right of this page.

I’ve known since I applied (in NOVEMBER) that they would notify all applicants if they were accepted, rejected, or waitlisted in the first week of April, so it’s been quite a long wait for me.  Last week, I saw on TAPIF’s Facebook page that they were going to notify us on Monday, then they pushed it back to Wednesday.  All day today I’ve been super antsy to find out- when my alarm went off this morning, I didn’t even hit snooze- which, if you know me, is a RARITY.  And by rarity, I mean that NEVER happens.

Well, needless to say, I didn’t have an email waiting for me at 6:30 am. Shocking, I know.  I had my email open as I was getting ready, but I had a folder up blocking part of it.  I saw that I had a new email and the sender began with a “T”- I immediately thought, “Teaching Assistantship Program!!”  But no, it was just the weekly email from my lovely employer, Tuesday Morning.  It’s always good to start your morning with a near heart attack.

I kept my email up all during my classes this morning; luckily, I wasn’t TOO terribly distracted, which is good because my university supervisor came to observe me in my second class today.  Lunch came and went without an email, and then I went downstairs at 1 to watch my C&I student (ISU student who is teaching for 3 days as part of her education classes) teach my Shakespeare class.  I sat down, opened up my computer, and lo and behold I had a new email from the Teaching Assistant Program!  I opened it up, and saw this:

In short: I GOT ACCEPTED!  To my number one region, Nice, nonetheless.  It’s in the south of France, near Italy.  I knew I wouldn’t be able to sit in the class and pay attention so I left and started informing my friends and family via email, text, phone call, and Facebook (some people MAY have been notified through all four channels.  What can I say, I was EXCITED!).  Luckily, my CT was very understanding of my state of mind at this time. 🙂

So what now?  I won’t be moving until September, sometime, most likely, and I won’t find out which town/school I’ll be in until this summer, so the preparations I have to do right now are pretty minimal.  I’ll start looking for plane tickets and apartments once I find out where I’m going to be placed, but my #1 goal right now is finding somewhere to work to save up some money until I go.

I have been absolutely overwhelmed by the positive feedback I have received from my friends and family.  I am so blessed to have such supportive, positive, encouraging people in my life, and I know without a doubt that I wouldn’t be where I am today with them.  So to all of you: thank you and merci from the bottom of my heart. 🙂  I’m looking forward to continuing to share my journey with you!

Categories: Random thoughts | Tags: , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “France here I come!

  1. ann

    I got to visit Nice and the area around it for a week last summer and it is beautiful! Congrats Kelsey!!!

  2. Aunt My

    I’m so excited for you! How Nice!

  3. Dad

    Ne pas être français embrassant tous les garçons français!

  4. aftonjoy

    *too

  5. aftonjoy

    What a great blog post! Mom loved it to, because she read it to me over the phone. Lol.

    Did you reply to the email and confirm your position! If it were me I would do it twice!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

